Philly :: Part Two (Art!)

So I loved he Philadelphia Museum of art so much I had to do a separate entry, just on it. Being a huge Duchamp and Dada fan, I don’t know how I was oblivious to the fact that they have an entire room devoted to Duchamp…. and another to Cy Twombly… And a bunch of Jasper Johns… and Pollock… and the list keeps going.

Needless to say, I was stoked to be there and went into completely-in-awe-of-the-greats-mode and probably freaked out my coworkers (like when I went to the MoMa in NYC for the first time). Luckily neither of them were there when I got all emotional when I laid eyes on the “Nude Descending A Staircase” by Duchamp. I think I just got so overwhelmed in the room, surrounded by pieces I admired so much, yet thought I would never be able to see in my life. Yup, I got all teary about it.


One response to “Philly :: Part Two (Art!)

  1. If you’re into surrealism and haven’t been there, the Art Institute of Chicago, has an amazing collection (of just about everything) including some beautiful works by Joseph Cornell – the most hermit-like but fanciful of the Surrealists.

Leave a Reply

