when life gives you lemons…

…glue some fringe to it?

Or is that just my solution? My go-to black shoes (which I always have such a hard time finding) were subject to a Pickles attack a few weeks back. As you can see below, the heel on one of them was mangled completely. I had been kicking around this idea of a DIY project for a while, and figured, “Why not? What’s the worse that could happen I throw them away?”

So that is precisely what I did… and just went with it. I took some extra long fringe I bought awhile back for this very occasion, and ended up gluing it along the bottom edge, then trimming it flush to the ground.

I was pretty excited about the finished product… and the best part? They look like a wedge until you start walking, then it’s like a flapper dancing on your feet! It makes you want to do a little dancing yourself just to get the fringe to move!

4 responses to “when life gives you lemons…

  1. I’ve actually worn them out already once and had no issues! Maybe it’s just me willing the rain to go away 😉

    Thanks Em! We can always rig up a pair for you too you know!

  2. This is a neat idea because, you know how I’m afraid of heels… these ones are almost tricking my mind, that I would probably give them a try if I saw them at the store. 🙂

    Great DYI project Minty.

  3. Might start a fashion trend!

  4. …ingenious. Look like they might work in an art installation but not sure about in rainy pdx…

Leave a Reply

